Board of Trustees 2020-2021

Board Leadership

Jack O. Bovender, Jr., Chair
Retired Chairman and CEO, Hospital Corporation of America
Nashville, TN
Term: 2007-2021

Vincent E. Price
President, Duke University
Durham, NC

William A. Hawkins III, Vice Chair
Senior Advisor, EW Healthcare Partners
New York, NY
Term: 2011-2023

Laurene Sperling, Vice Chair
President, Sperling Family Charitable Foundation
Wayland, MA
Term: 2010-2025


Mary T. Barra
Chair and Chief Executive Officer, General Motors Company
Detroit, MI
Term: 2020-2026

Lisa M. Borders
CEO of LMB Group, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Term: 2015-2021

William C. Brody
Managing Director, BlueDot Properties
Durham, NC
Term: 2020-2021

Tim Cook
CEO, Apple, Inc.
Cupertino, CA
Term: 2015-2021

Allyson Kay Duncan
Retired U.S. Circuit Judge
Raleigh, NC
Term: 2011-2023

Ralph Eads III
Vice Chairman, Jefferies, LLC
Houston, TX
Term:  2009-2021

Paul Farmer
Co-Founder, Partners In Health
Boston, MA
Term: 2009-2021

Xiqing Gao
Professor of Law, Tsinghua University Law School
Beijing, China
Term: 2008-2025

Edward A. Gilhuly
Founding Partner, Sageview Capital
Palo Alto, CA
Term: 2013-2025

Gerald L. Hassell
Retired Chairman and CEO, BNY Mellon
New York, NY
Term: 2011-2023

Janet Hill
Principal, Hill Family Advisors
Fairfax, VA
Term:  2006-2021

Betsy D. Holden
Senior Advisor, McKinsey & Company
Chicago, IL
Term: 2011-2023

Kathryn A. Hollister
Partner, Deloitte
Cincinnati, OH
Term: 2017-2023

William G. Kaelin, Jr. 
Sidney Farber Professor of Medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA
Term:  2019-2025

Peter J. Kahn
Attorney-Partner, Williams & Connolly LLP
Washington, DC
Term:  2009-2021

Martha L. Monserrate
President, Environmental Excellence Engineering, PC
Rye, NY
Term: 2009-2021

Patricia R. Morton
Founder, PRM Advisors, LLC
Charlotte, NC
Term: 2015-2021

Stephen G. Pagliuca
Co-Chairman, Bain Capital
Boston, MA
Term: 2013-2025

Ann Pelham
Chevy Chase, MD
Term: 2014-2026

Robert R. Penn
President, Penn Resources, Inc., Rock Island Resources Company, Inc.
Dallas, TX
Term: 2011-2025

J.B. Pritzker
Governor, State of Illinois
Chicago, IL
Term: 2017-2023

Michael G. Rhodes
Group Head, Innovation, Technology, and Shared Services, TD Bank Group
Wilmington, DE
Term:  2019-2025

Carmichael S. Roberts, Jr.
Founder & Managing Partner, Material Impact
Boston, MA
Term: 2013-2025

Nancy M. Schlichting
Retired CEO, Henry Ford Health System
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Term: 2018-2024

Steven M. Scott
Chairman, Scott Holdings, LLC
Boca Raton, FL
Term: 2014-2021

Adam Silver
Commissioner, National Basketball Association
New York, NY
Term 2015-2021

Ashley Crowder Stanley
Senior Pastor, Mills River United Methodist Church
Mills River, NC
Term: 2011-2023

L. Frederick Sutherland
Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, ARAMARK Corporation
Haverford, PA
Term: 2017-2023

Jeffrey W. Ubben
CEO, ValueAct Capital
San Francisco, CA
Term: 2015-2021

Trey Walk
Justice Fellow, Equal Justice Initiative
Montgomery, AL
Term: 2020-2022

Hope Morgan Ward
Bishop, NC-Conference - Raleigh Area, The United Methodist Church
Garner, NC
Term: 2010-2025

Laura Meyer Wellman
Retired President and CEO, E4E Relief
Charlotte, NC
Term:  2019-2021