Academic Affairs Committee

The Academic Affairs Committee oversees all activities that support the academic mission of the University, in coordination with the Duke Health Academic Affairs Committee and the Undergraduate Education Committee. 

The work of the Academic Affairs Committee includes the articulation of the academic mission of the University, enhancing the quality of the academic program, considering new academic programs and significant modifications in existing academic programs, fostering faculty development and other faculty priorities, all matters relating to the graduate and professional student experience (including academic, extra-curricular, and co-curricular affairs), promoting scholarly research, and overseeing strategic planning for the University and its constituent schools.

Academic Affairs Committee Membership, 2017-2018

Allyson Duncan, Chair
Steffen Bass (Faculty)
Sean Bissell (Undergraduate Student)
Paul Farmer
Xiqing Gao
Thomas Gorrie
Besty Holden
Rashmi Joglekar (Graduate and Professional Student)
Anna Knight
Travis Knoll (Graduate and Professional Student)
John Lu (Undergraduate Student)
Patricia Morton
Christopher Paul
Victoria Szabo (Faculty)
Erika Weinthal (Faculty)
      Sally Kornbluth, Provost, ex officio
      Jennifer Francis, Vice Provost for Academic Affairs, ex officio