Listed below are recipients from 1940 to 1949.


George V. Allen, Doctor of Laws
Assistant Secretary of State

Alice Mary Baldwin, Doctor of Laws
Former Dean of the Woman's College, Duke University

Robert H. Jackson, Doctor of Laws
Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court

James Rhyne Killian, Doctor of Laws
President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Henry C. Sprinkle, Jr., Doctor of Divinity
Former editor, North Carolina Christian Advocate; Associate editor, World Outlook


Owen J. Roberts, Doctor of Laws
Associate Justice of U.S. Supreme Court

Robert Frost, Doctor of Literature

Eugene Cannon Few, Doctor of Divinity
Church leader, author, and youth counselor

Alfred P. Sloan, Jr., Doctor of Science
Philanthropist and scientist


Thomas Parron, Doctor of Science
Surgeon General of United States Public Health Service


Clare Purcell, Doctor of Laws
Methodist Bishop

James Stevens Simmons, Doctor of Science
Surgeon General

Charles S. Stephenson, Doctor of Science
Chief, Division of Preventive Medicine, U.S. Army

Thomas A. Morgan, Doctor of Science
President, Sperry Corporation


Josiah W. Bailey, Doctor of Laws
United States Senator

John R. Cunningham, Doctor of Laws
President, Davidson College

Clyde Olin Fisher, Doctor of Laws
Economist; Chairman, Connecticut State Board of Mediation and Arbitration

William E. Hocking, Doctor of Laws
Chairman, Division of Philosophy and Psychology, Harvard University

William A. Lambeth, Doctor of Divinity
President, Lake Junaluska Assembly; representative at Methodist Uniting Conference

Robert M. Lester, Doctor of Laws
Administrator, Carnegie Foundation

Harry C. Smith, Doctor of Divinity
Distinguished North Carolinian and national churchman


Luther Pfahler Eisenhart, Doctor of Laws
Dean, Graduate School, Princeton University; mathematician

Hu Shih, Doctor of Laws
Ambassador of China to the United States; author

John Wesley Hanes, Doctor of Laws
Former member of Securities and Exchange Committion and under Secretary of Treasury

Costen J. Harrell, Doctor of Divinity
Methodist Bishop