Listed below are recipients from 1960 to 1969.


Jerome Seymour Bruner, Doctor of Humane Letters
Professor of Psychology and Director of Cognitive Studies, Harvard University

Angier Biddle Duke, Doctor of Laws
U.S. Ambassador; Chief of Protocol, U.S. State Department

William Martin Fairbank, Doctor of Science
Professor of Physics, Stanford University

Earl Gladstone Hunt, Jr., Doctor of Divinity
Fromer President, Emory and Henry College; Methodist Bishop

Maynard Mack, Doctor of Literature
Sterling Professor of English and Department Chairman, Yale University

Asa Timothy Spaulding, Doctor of Laws
Former executive, North Carolina Mutual Insurance Company; civic leader

Rudolf Wittkower, Doctor of Fine Arts
Chairman, Department of Art History, Columbia University


(John) Wallace Carroll, Doctor of Laws
Newspaper editor; writer; fomer Director, Office of War Information

Jonathan Worth Daniels, Doctor of Literature
Newspaper editor; author; former press secretary to Franklin Delano Roosevelt

William Thomas Gossett, Doctor of Laws
President-elect, American Bar Association; government and industry leader

Elisabeth Luce Moore, Doctor of Humane Letters
Chairman of Trustees of State University of New York; civic leader

William Clark Styron, Jr., Doctor of Letters
Novelist; Pulitzer Prize winner

Helen Brooke Taussig, Doctor of Science
Professor emerita, Johns Hopkins University; contributor to pediatric cardiology


Luther H. Hodges, Doctor of Laws
Former Governor of North Carolina; United States Secretary of Commerce

Robert Lee Humber, Doctor of Humanities
Pioneer in North Carolina's fine arts movement

Charles S. Murphy, Doctor of Laws
Chairman, Civil Aeronautics Board

William McFerrin Stowe, Doctor of Divinity
Dean, Oklahoma Methodist Pastors School


Earl J. Hamilton, Doctor of Laws
Professor of Economics, University of Chicago

George Watts Hill, Doctor of Laws
Banker; civic leader

John Thomas McNeill, Doctor of Humane Letters
Auburn Professor Emeritus of Church History, Union Theological Seminary

John M. Russell, Doctor of Laws
President, Markle Foundation

Charles H. Townes, Doctor of Science
Provost and Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

James E. Webb, Doctor of Laws
Administrator of the National Aeronautics and Space Administration


John T. Caldwell, Doctor of Laws
Chancellor, North Carolina State University

Charles A. Cannon, Doctor of Laws
President, Cannon Mills; Trustee of Duke University

John N. Couch, Doctor of Science
Kenan Professor of Botany, University of North Carolina

Harry L. Dalton, Doctor of Humane Letters
Philanthropist and art collector

Gordon Norton Ray, Doctor of Literature
Educator; Vice President, Guggenheim Memorial Foundation

Eleanor L. Dulles, Doctor of Literature
Diplomat and teacher


Germaine Bree, Doctor of Humanities
Permanent member, University of Wisconsin Institute for Research in the Humanities

James Franck, Doctor of Science (posthumous)
Nobel prize-winning physicist

J. Deryl Hart, Doctor of Laws
President Emeritus, Duke University

Edgar Finley Shannon, Jr., Doctor of Laws
President, University of Virginia

William Freeman Twaddell, Doctor of Literature
Professor, Brown University

Bunyan Snipes Womble, Doctor of Laws
Attorney; former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Duke University


William Brantley Aycock, Doctor of Laws
Chancellor, University of North Carolina

A. Merrimon Cuninggim, Doctor of Laws
Executive Director; The Danforth Foundation

Carl Joachim Friedrich, Doctor of Laws
Eaton Professor of the Science of Government, Harvard University

Gaylord P. Harnwell, Doctor of Laws
President, University of Pennsylvania; atomic physicist


Norman A. Cocke, Doctor of Laws
Former President, Duke Power Company; Former Chairman, Duke University Board of Trustees

James G. Leyburn, Doctor of Laws
George Washington Professor of Sociology, Washington & Lee University

Richard H. Shryock, Doctor of Laws
Librarian, American Philosophical Society

Mary Elizabeth Switzer, Doctor of Humanities
Director, U.S. Office of Vocational Rehabilitation

Aubrey G. Walton, Doctor of Divinity
Member of the World Methodist Council and the General Board of Missions of The Methodist Church


Harold A. Scheraga, Doctor of Science
Chairman, Chemistry Department, Cornell University

Whitney North Seymour, Doctor of Laws
President, American Bar Association

Wilburt Cornell Davison, Doctor of Laws
Former Dean of Medical School, Duke University


W. Kenneth Goodson, Doctor of Divinity
President, Western North Carolina Conference Board of Missions

Henry W. Kendall, Doctor of Literature
Editor, Greensboro Daily News

David Grier Martin, Doctor of Laws
President, Davidson College