Listed below are recipients from 2000 to 2009.

Susan Athey, Doctor of Science
Economist and educator, first woman to receive the John Bates Clark Medal

Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein, Doctor of Science
Nobel Prize winning geneticists, studies led to the discovery of statins

James Moeser, Doctor of Letters
Former Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Mario Molina, Doctor of Science
Nobel Prize winning chemist and environmental scientist

Indra Nooyi, Doctor of Laws 
Chairwoman and Chief Executive Officer of PepsiCo

Murray Perahia, Doctor of Fine Arts
Concert pianist and conductor

Robert Redford, Doctor of Fine Arts
Actor, director, producer, creator of Sundance and environmental advocate

Oprah Winfrey, Doctor of Humane Letters
Media entrepreneur and philanthropist


Wendell Berry, Doctor of Literature
Essayist, poet, and novelist

Helene Gayle, Doctor of Science
International public health leader; CEO and president of CARE

James Goodmon, Doctor of Laws
President and CEO of Capitol Broadcasting Co., Inc.

Barbara Kingsolver, Doctor of Humane Letters
Novelist, essayist, poet, non-fiction and short-story writer

Patricia Wald, Doctor of Laws
First woman to serve on U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia


Anita Jones, Doctor of Science
Information technology pioneer

Peter Storey, Doctor of Humane Letters
South African Methodist minister and bishop

Twyla Tharp, Doctor of Fine Arts
Professional dancer and choreographer

Florence Wald, Doctor of Humane Letters
Founder of the American Hospice Movement

Steven Chu, Doctor of Science
Director of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and Nobel Prize winner

Martin Eakes, Doctor of Humane Letters
Founder and CEO of Self-Help Community Development Corporation

Nina Totenberg, Doctor of Humane Letters
Legal Affairs Correspondent for NPR

James Wyngaarden, Doctor of Science
Former Director of the National Institutes of Health

John H. Adams, Doctor of Laws
Co-Founder and President of the National Resources Defense Council

Robin Chandler Duke, Doctor of Humane Letters
Former Ambassador to Norway; international human rights leader

Roald Hoffmann, Doctor of Science
Nobel Prize winning chemist

Freeman A. Hrabowski, Doctor of Letters
President of the University of Maryland Baltimore County; national leader in programs for minority students in science and math

Ricardo Lagos, Doctor of Laws
President of Chile

Mary Robinson, Doctor of Humane Letters
Director of the Ethical Global Initiative; previously first female President of Ireland

Madeleine K. Albright, Doctor of Humane Letters
Former U.S. Secretary of State and Former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations

Richard J. Goldstone, Doctor of Laws
Former Justice to the Constitutional Court of South Africa; world leader in international humanitarian law

Phillip A. Griffiths, Doctor of Science
Former Director of the Institute for Advanced Study and world renowned mathematician

Oliver Smithies, Doctor of Science
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at UNC-Chapel Hill and scientific pioneer

Frank L. Bowman, Doctor of Humane Letters
Admiral, United States Navy, and recipient of the Defense Distinguished Service Medal

Judy Chicago, Doctor of Fine Arts
Feminist art and art education pioneer

Richard D. Klausner, Doctor of Science
Executive Director of Global Health; former Director of the National Cancer Institute

Charles L. Reinhart, Doctor of Fine Arts
President, Director, and Co-Founder of the American Dance Festival

John Wesley Chandler, Doctor of Laws
Educational leader; former President of Hamilton College, Williams College, and Association of American Colleges

Shmuel N. Eisenstadt, Doctor of Humane Letters
World-class comparative social scientist

Eleanor Thomas Elliott, Doctor of Humane Letters
Leader on behalf of women in education, health care, and civic and corporate life; President of Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation

John R. Lewis, Doctor of Laws
U.S. Congressman representing Georgia; civil rights leader

Thomas K. Wolfe, Jr., Doctor of Literature
Journalist and best-selling novelist

David R. Gergen, Doctor of Humane Letters
Journalist and political analyst; advisor to four U.S. Presidents

Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Doctor of Humane Letters
Award-winning print and broadcast journalist

Patrick M. Williams, Doctor of Fine Arts
Award-winning composer, arranger, director, and recording artist

Elizabeth H. Dole, Doctor of Humane Letters
Former Presidential candidate; first woman to head two Federal cabinet agencies - American Red Cross and Department of Labor

Andrew Jackson Young, Jr., Doctor of Laws
Civil rights leader, minister, former Congressman from Georgia, two-term mayor of Atlanta and Ambassador to the U.N.