Honorary Degrees

The awarding of honorary degrees is Duke University’s way of recognizing people who have exemplified in their work the highest ideals and standards to which the University is dedicated. By awarding honorary degrees, the University affirms its vital interest in and connection with excellence in any valued aspect of human endeavor.

Committee on Honorary Degrees Membership, 2018-2019

Janet Hill, Chair
Uzoma Ayogu
Jack Boyd
Ellen Davis (Faculty)
Preyas Desai (Faculty)
Peter Feaver (Faculty)
Richard Powell (Faculty)
Nancy Schlichting
Laurene Sperling
Chris Woods (Faculty)
    Sally Kornbluth, Provost, ex officio
    Vincent Price, President, ex officio