In addition to the 37 trustees, the Board has four observers. These are selected by Duke Student Government, the Graduate and Professional Student Council, the Duke Alumni Association, and The Duke Endowment.

Duke University Trustee Observers as of July 1, 2016

Jack W. Boyd (DAA President)

Jamal A. Edwards (DSG)

Rhett N. Mabry (President, The Duke Endowment, Charlotte, NC)

Christopher J. Paul (GPSC)